Cell Therapy Alliance

The Cell Therapy Alliance presently consists of several individuals representing organizations wishing to assist in advancing regenerative medicine to the bedside. Members attend meetings in Edmonton and Calgary to discuss research and plan educational events and publications to demystify regenerative cell therapy treatments. The Alberta Council of Technologies serves as a Secretariat for the Alberta Cell Therapy Alliance. For more



  • Dr. Derrick Rancourt, Executive Chair, Professor, Departments of Oncology, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Medical Genetics, University of Calgary
  • Susan Bly, Patient Advocate, Writer, Alliance Communications Co-Ordinator
  • Dr. Ernst Bergmann, Former Edmonton Chair, Director, Business Development, Biomedical Engineering Research Results Initiative (BERRI)
  • Jackie Bodie, Patient Advocate, Parkinson’s Society
  • Dr. Tania Bubela, Assoc. Professor in the Dept. of Public Health Sciences and Adjunct Professor in the School of Business at the University of Alberta
  • Teren Clarke, Executive Director, Canadian Paraplegic Association
  • Dr. Allen Davidoff, VP, Product Development and Chief Scientific Officer responsible for drug development, clinical research and regulatory affairs, Stem Cell Therapeutics Corp.
  • Dr. Fouad Dabbarh, President, Biomatek Solutions
  • Dr. Martin Ferguson-Pell, Professor and Dean, University of Alberta, Faculty of Rehabilitative Medicine
  • Glenna Laing, Manager, Human Tissues Program and Canadian Blood Services, Alberta Health & Wellness
  • Jeff Mathews, Edmonton Economic Development Corporation
  • Dr. Locksley McGann, Professor, Laboratory Medicine & Pathology, University of Alberta, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, Executive Chair of the National Cord Blood Committee
  • Dr. Alex McPherson, past President Alberta and Canadian Medical Associations. currently Professor Emeritus, UofA’s Faculty of Medicine, Deputy Minister, Alberta Ministry of Hospitals and Medical Care and Deputy Commissioner and Executive Director, Premier’s Commission on Future Health Care for Albertans
  • Lorell Thoms, Osteoporosis Educator, Canadian Osteoporosis Society
  • Alison Wood, Patient Advocate, Parkinson’s Society
  • Dixie Baum, Uncle’s House Productions, Media Consultant
  • Dave Horrocks, Infinite Wave, Video and Sound Consultant